top of page

Captivating Rhododendrons



I love beauty, don't you? Beauty is important, as it reminds of good things in a challenging world. It reminds us that there is more to life than just us, or our problems, and helps us look beyond ourselves to something greater.


It helps us to breathe, and focus on long term certainties in an uncertain world. Beauty enables us to come out of ourselves and look to the other - to wonder, in awe, at something marvellous. Often, it brings peace to us, and a sense of calm - it certainly helps us to wonder about a Designer.


Whatever your view, beauty is vital to our existence


That is why I designed these products using vintage paintings of Rhododendrons. I took the paintings and adapted them to the different products. Very often, I had to use just a section of the painting. I had to resize them to increase the pixels, and to remove the background on some of them so that I could have a white backdrop. I had to readjust the size for the smaller section of the picture after that, and then load them up to social media.


You can see this particular product here on my Redbubble Store. (You can find many other items there too with the same theme.) I wanted this to bring some joy and hope to someone out there who loves beauty - not just of nature, but also of paintings. This particular watercolour was by Jean Louis Provost, and I trust that my adaptation of his work will not do him a disservice.


I chose Rhododendrons as the theme, because I believe in the whole 'living simple' ideal, and cottages and cottage core are rather special. It goes along with Herbology, and I wished to mention the medicinal use of Rhododendrons.


Firstly, let me point out that I am not a doctor, and my advice should never substitute for a doctor's. I merely do research on the subject. Secondly, taken in too high a dose, Rhododendrons can be poisonous, so do consult a herbal expert before embarking on its use. The picture above refers to the European, not the Nepalese variety, which can be used for medicinal purposes too.


That said, rhododendrons, of the herbal variety used by the Nepalese, are said to be very good for gout, arthritis, sore throat, cough, as a decongestant for the nose, and reducing a fever. This herb can be used for bone disease, blood disorders, and as an antibacterial and a mild sedative.


The essential oil is used in skincare products.


So, there you are - beauty and medicine and cottage-life all in one little plant - and blog post.


For any of my other designs, please see my Store here, and my Instagram here. Let me know in the comments about your experiences with quiet living and with herbal remedies.


Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page