top of page

A Burst of Pink on a Game Farm



I find myself constantly drawn to a little game farm an hour's drive from my home. The lady there has given me and my family free access for whenever we need to get away from it all. We don't go all that often, but it is a great joy when we do.


The car takes a little persuasion getting over a few bumps without scraping the sump, but once we are there, the quiet envelops us like a pool of refreshing water. You may hear the birds singing in the trees, but even those sounds create an environment of peace and of rest.


The tiny little cottage is a storybook in itself, and I will show it to you some time. It is so tastefully kitted out, and so very feminine, that I think you will immediately get on the plane and come and join me when I can.


At any rate, I love going for a little walk, and hearing the rumble of zebra as they spring away, or coming upon the nyala as they munch rather vaguely on each blade of grass. Of course, I can never fail to be amused and awed by the little dung beetle, rolling his little home in the sand so diligently. I have seen a mongoose once, but it was a flash, and then it was gone.


It is during one of those times that I found mushrooms growing on a termite hill, and discovered that they had the most beautiful symbiotic relationship with the termites - a story, perhaps for another time.


However, my delight is always the Proteas - bright and colourful against a backdrop of green or gold. The King Protea above tends to grow in the Western Cape, along with the other erica species, but there a myriad of other species glowing in the sunlight, and nestling beside little hidden streams.


This bag is reflective of the joy and pride I have to belong to a country with such a beautiful heritage. Of course, I have designed other items with this Protea on, but you can start there if you like.


Please find it here for $30.98 plus shipping. Worth every penny for such a high quality bag. Please note, using Print On Demand products are far healthier for the environment in terms of not being wasteful. Besides which, Redbubble uses good products and processes to reduce harm to the environment.


I hope you enjoy my story. Please leave a comment if you would like to hear more.



Comments


bottom of page